Finding Love: Puppet Remix

Continuing my habit of posting the puppet skits that go along with the sermon. Many thanks to the young lads of the church who have helped with this.

Characters: Sherlock the detective, Watson the Angel, Voice from “The Bachelor”, Another Angel.

Enter Sherlock and Watson

Sherlock: Well hello my dear Watson.

Watson: Hello Sherlock. Why are you not looking through your magnifying glass as usual?

Sherlock: So that I can see you coming so you don’t scare the wits out of me again. In my line of work I need all the wits I can get. That, and it is hard to watch television through a magnifying glass.

Watson: What are you watching?

Sherlock: A television program. Elementary dear Watson!

Watson: I can see that, but which program.

Sherlock: The program that will help us find that one last thing we need.

Watson: So far you have been looking for hope, peace, and joy, which leaves us with finding love. I can definitely help you with this one.

Sherlock: No need, dear Watson. This program will help me find love. In fact this program has been helping people find love for years. Watch it with me and you will see.

Voice: I came on this show to find love. Several times in the past I thought I had found love, but hadn’t. But now I think I’ve found it.

Sherlock: See, it is the place to go to find love.

Watson: What show is this anyway?

Sherlock: The Bachelor.

Watson: Isn’t that the show where there is one man dating a whole group of ladies at the same time and every week he sends some home until he proposes to just one?

Sherlock: That’s the one.

Watson: Ah, that’s a favourite for at least two ladies from our congregation, not mentioning any names. And you think watching this show will help you find love?

Sherlock: It’s elementary dear Watson. of course watching will not help, but being on the show will. I am scheduled to be the next bachelor.

Watson: You are going to be on the Bachelor?

Sherlock. Yes indeed. As I’ve said, its the place to find love. I do hope there are not too many blondes. I don’t get along well with blondes for some reason.

Watson: I don’t think a tv show is the place to find love Sherlock.

Sherlock. I somehow knew you were going to say that. I suppose you are going to take me back in time to find it then?

Watson: Yes.

Sherlock: To the first episode of the Bachelor?

Watson: A lot further than that.

Sherlock: The Dating Game?

Watson: Before television was thought of. We are going to the first Christmas.

Sherlock: Will there be an engagement?

Watson: Well there is an engagement, between Joseph and Mary. But while they have great love for one another, that is really not what its about.

Sherlock: Then what is it about?

Watson: It’s about God’s love for us. Before Joseph and Mary were married, Mary became pregnant. Joseph was about to call off the engagement thinking she was unfaithful to him. But he was going to do it quietly because he still loved her.

Sherlock: So what happened?

Watson: One of my friends appeared to Joseph in a dream. Let’s listen in to what he said:

Angel: Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary as your wife, for the child conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will bear a son, and you are to name him Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.

Sherlock: So let me think this through. Having gone through the Old Testament I have deduced that sin separates humans from God, not to mention each other. So this baby born on the first Christmas will somehow deal with that separation. And this is an expression of God’s love. That while we cannot do anything about the separation we experience from God through sin, God deals with it for us.

Watson: Precisely dear Sherlock. As John recorded: “”For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life.” And “In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the atoning sacrifice for our sins.”

Sherlock: And so finding love is not necessarily about finding a wife.

Watson: Love should be part of marriage, but it is much bigger than that. Jesus showed us how to love when he went to the cross for us. It is about caring for others, even when they might not even care for you. It is about serving others, even when they may not be able to serve you. It is about commitment to others, even when they are not committed to you. It is about generosity, about grace, about forgiveness. Through this baby born at Christmas God loved us, and showed us how to love. In fact, as the Bible says, “God is love.”

Sherlock: I am beginning to see I am more likely to find love by reading the Bible than watching the television.

Watson: So are you still going to be the next bachelor?

Sherlock: I might be the next repentant sinner instead!

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Love: Puppet Remix

Leave a Reply

