Finding Peace: Puppet Remix

The puppet skit to go along with the previously posted sermon:

Characters: Sherlock – a private investigator, An angel named Watson, A shepherd.

Sherlock: (looking around with magnifying glass, finally sees Watson): AHHHHHHHH!

Watson: AHHHHHHHH!

Sherlock: Oh you again. You scared me again!

Watson: Yes, me again, and you sacred me again. What are you looking for now Sherlock?

Sherlock: Why clues of course dear Watson. But I suspect you are wondering what is behind this search. While I thank you for pointing me towards hope last week, this week I am looking for peace.

Watson: Well that explains why I am here again, I happen to know a thing or two about peace.

Sherlock: (interrupting) Not now dear Watson, methinks I am onto something! (stares into the congregation) Ah, there is a person who has found peace, perhaps I should interrogate her to see where she found it.

Watson: Who? Where?

Sherlock: That person over there! (pointing into the congregation)

Watson: Oh, Lois, yes she has found peace. But I don’t think she would appreciate being interrogated.

Sherlock: And there is another person who has found peace, over there. (pointing into the congregation)

Watson: Oh that is Mrs. T, yes she also has found peace.

Sherlock: (interrupting) And there is another one (pointing), though . . . that is so strange. . .yes, I really need to interrogate him for it is so strange that he has found peace.

Watson: How so?

Sherlock: He is a Toronto Maple Leafs fan. How could a Maple Leaf fan know peace?

Watson: Oh you mean Peter. Sherlock, I think I can help you know why these people have found peace.

Sherlock: (interrupting) Not now dear Watson, I’m onto something. Yes, . . yes, . . there are more here, and there, and everywhere. I have solved it! I have thought it through and I know where these people have found peace.

Watson: And where is that?

Sherlock: Well its all very elementary dear Watson. Do you see what all these people have in common? And I want you to pay particular and close attention to where they are.

Watson: You mean, the fact that they are in church?

Sherlock: Precisely dear Watson, which leads us exactly to where hope can be found. In religion! Yes that is it. Case solved. Peace can be found in religion.

Watson: I don’t think that is it.

Sherlock: But of course it is. And you being an angel ought to agree. When one feels at peace with God, one is at peace. People can make peace with God by being religious and being good. Its just like Santa Claus – be good and it all turns out well.

Watson: It is not at all like Santa Claus. We can be good enough for Christmas gifts, but can we ever be good enough to get ourselves right with God? No matter how much we try to do the right thing, and avoid doing the wrong thing, we still manage to miss the mark.

Sherlock: Don’t worry dear Watson, as long as our good things outweigh our bad things, we will be fine.

Watson: That might work with Santa, but since God is perfect, and where I come from we would use the word “holy,” then nothing but perfection will measure up. Do you know any perfect people?

Sherlock: Right enough, with my vast knowledge of human nature, I cannot think of ever working with a perfect person, though I myself come close of course. So if we can not make peace with God through religion, how can we ever make peace with God?

Watson: I think I know of some people that can help.

Some sheep run across the puppet stage, puppeteers make sheep noises, Enter Shepherd(s) in a rush

Sherlock: Shepherds in a hurry? Where are you going?

Shepherd: We are on our way to tell people about the baby!

Sherlock: Baby? What baby?

Shepherd: The baby the prophets told us about, especially Isaiah when he said “For a child has been born for us, a son given to us; authority rests upon his shoulders; and he is named Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

A prince of peace? I am looking for peace. And how did you know this baby had been born?

Shepherd: An angel told us. He said “Do not be afraid”

Sherlock: (interrupting) That figures. I know what it is like to be scared by an angel.

Shepherd: but then the angel said “for see—I am bringing you good news of great joy for all the people: to you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, who is the Messiah, the Lord. This will be a sign for you:you will find a child wrapped in bands of cloth and lying in a manger.” And suddenly there were all these angels, praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace among those whom he favours!” It was epic!

Sherlock: So this Prince of Peace will bring peace?

Shepherd: Yes, that is what the Bible teaches.

Sherlock: And what did you do to deserve this?

Shepherd: Deserve what?

Sherlock: Deserve the opportunity to meet this Prince of Peace?

Shepherd: Well, nothing. In fact when the angel first appeared we were scared because we knew we didn’t deserve to be in the presence of angels, never mind the Lord himself. We thought we were in trouble!

Sherlock: But you must be very religious.

Shepherd: Well no, in fact our work with the animals makes us unclean and unfit for the religious stuff.

Sherlock: But you were invited to see this Prince of Peace?

Shepherd: Yes, and that is the amazing thing. We didn’t deserve it. We didn’t earn it. But we were invited. We are at peace with God, not because of what we have done, but because of what He has done.

Sherlock: So if I am understanding this correctly, while we can never make peace with God, through this baby being born, God has made peace with us. How is that possible?

Watson: It is not just in being born, but also in dying for us, dying instead of us, taking all our sin upon himself. That is how he makes peace possible for us.

Sherlock: (pointing to the congregation) And so that is why these people have peace? I suppose you are going to tell me it is elementary?

Watson: Precisely, dear Sherlock.

Leave a Reply

