Finding Hope: Puppet Remix

puppetsLast year I posted the puppet skits that went along with the sermons so I thought I’d do that again this year, though I am late thinking of it. So here is the first one on “Finding Hope.” Thanks to our young ones and Sandra for helping with the puppets!

Characters:

Sherlock Homeygee – a private investigator, An angel named Watson, The prophet Isaiah

Enter Sherlock and Watson.

Sherlock (oblivious to the angel, Sherlock is looking all around with his magnifying glass): I think I have a clue! . . .No wait . . .(still looking through his magnifying glass, Sherlock turns to see the angel) AHHHHHHHHHH!

Angel: AHHHHHHHHHHH!

Sherlock: You scared me!

Angel: You scared me, which is no easy thing, for I am an angel.

Sherlock: An angel? Who are you and what are you doing here?

Angel: My name is Watson and I was sent to help you.

Sherlock: Sent to help me? Help me do what?

Angel: Sent to help you find what you are looking for.

Sherlock: How nice. (starts looking around with his magnifying glass again)

Angel: What are you looking for?

Sherlock: Clues of course. . . It’s elementary dear Watson.

Angel: But clues for what?

Sherlock: I have been hired by the United Nations for a very big task. You see, four things have gone missing from the world, and I have been given the very onerous task of locating them. Having applied my mind and given much thought I have discerned that it would be best to look for these one at a time. So now I am searching for the first.

Angel: And what is that?

Sherlock: Hope. Hope has gone missing and cannot be found, but never fear dear Watson I shall find it.

Angel: Ah, now I see why I was sent to you.

Sherlock: And why is that?

Angel: I know a thing or two about hope.

Sherlock (interrupting): Not now dear Watson! I am onto something. I have a clue. . .

Angel: What is it?

Sherlock: (holding up a telescope) It’s a telescope.

Angel: And how does that bring the world hope?

Sherlock: Elementary dear Watson: It is not the telescope itself that brings hope, it what it stands for. Observation! Understanding! Learning! Whether we observe the smallest of particles under a microscope, or the farthest of stars through a telescope, it is science! And science is what will bring hope to the world! Case solved.

Angel: And how will science do that?

Sherlock: Through solving the world’s problems of course! Cures will be found for diseases. Technology will be developed to make life more comfortable and many other great advances will be made. This is it. The hope of the world – found in science! Hope has been found! My work here is done!

Angel: Can I ask a question Sherlock?

Sherlock: Of course my dear Watson.

Angel: Even if diseases are cured, won’t people still die?

Sherlock: Well yes, for now, but someday we will be advanced enough to allow people to live forever!

Angel: And if we got to that point that people could live forever, where would we put them all?

Sherlock: What do you mean?

Angel: If no one dies and yet people are still being born, won’t there eventually be too many people on the planet?

Sherlock: We’ll send them to Canada. There is plenty of room in Canada. Besides it will be a great boon for the mitten and toque industry.

Angel: Even so, we will eventually run out of room, what then?

Sherlock: Other planets of course. By then we will have advanced far enough to start colonies on other planets!

Angel: Speaking of planets, doesn’t science also teach us that our sun will eventually go out?

Sherlock: By then we will be able to make a new one! Science, Dear Watson, it is the source of the world’s hope! We will someday be able to live forever!

Angel: That sounds hopeful if we are thinking of survival as the human race, but does that really bring hope to the present generation? Does it bring hope to people suffering right now? . . .
. . . I have one other question. If we can make life more comfortable through science and technology, can’t we also make life more miserable by using it? While advances in science can help us live longer, can’t it also help us destroy life more efficiently?

Sherlock: Well, . . . .perhaps those who are blind to goodness could use it that way.

Angel: I was sent to help you. I think I can help you by taking you back in time and showing you something.

(Enter the prophet Isaiah, speaking)

Isaiah: “Look at my servant, whom I strengthen.
He is my chosen one, who pleases me.
I have put my Spirit upon him.
He will bring justice to the nations.
He will not shout
or raise his voice in public.
He will not crush the weakest reed
or put out a flickering candle.
He will bring justice to all who have been wronged.
He will not falter or lose heart
until justice prevails throughout the earth.
Even distant lands beyond the sea will wait for his instruction.”

Sherlock: What is he doing?

Angel: He is prophesying. He is taking a message from God and giving it to the people. It is a message of hope, like so many given through the prophets. He is speaking about the coming Messiah, whose birth we celebrate at Christmas. This prophecy will be later known as Isaiah chapter 42. Let’s listen some more:

Isaiah:

God, the Lord, created the heavens and stretched them out.
He created the earth and everything in it.
He gives breath to everyone,
life to everyone who walks the earth.
And it is he who says,
“I, the Lord, have called you to demonstrate my righteousness.
I will take you by the hand and guard you,
and I will give you to my people, Israel,
as a symbol of my covenant with them.
And you will be a light to guide the nations.
You will open the eyes of the blind.
You will free the captives from prison,
releasing those who sit in dark dungeons.
“I am the Lord; that is my name!
I will not give my glory to anyone else,
nor share my praise with carved idols.
Everything I prophesied has come true,
and now I will prophesy again.
I will tell you the future before it happens.”

Sherlock: A light to guide? We could use some light in our dark world! Opening the eyes of the blind? We need that for those who can’t see goodness. Freedom and release? We need that too from the things that keep us stuck. I think I’m beginning to see some hope.

Angel: And did you notice who it is that gives hope? It is the Creator, the One who made everything. Through science we can study and learn about what God has created, and God loves it when our discoveries help people. But He is the One that can really change things, and so can really help, and really give us hope.

Sherlock: Really change things? Like how?

Angel: Like raising the dead to life. Isaiah and the other prophets prophesied that the Messiah would come. We celebrate his birth at Christmas, but we also celebrate his death and resurrection at Easter. He raised Jesus from the dead, showing that He will raise us from the dead too when we trust and follow Him.

Sherlock: That sounds hopeful, but how can we know that God will want to do that?

Angel: Because the Bible teaches us that God is love. Its elementary dear Sherlock!

Leave a Reply

