What Caterpillars Do Best

I’ve been quiet on the blog recently – so I thought I had better do something while I collect my thoughts to write another article for the Glebe Report, assuming I can get some thoughts together of course!  So here is a children’s story I wrote while in Pembroke as a children’s moment for church.  Blame it on having wee’uns!

What Caterpillars Do Best.

“Are you going to start your cocoon yet?” June asked her baby brother Joe one fine day.

“I’m not sure I want to make a cocoon,” replied Joe.  “I’m not sure what I want to do, but I know I do not want to make a cocoon.”

“But you have to make a cocoon,” replied June, “It’s what we are created to do.  It’s what we caterpillars do best.”

“But,” Joe replied, “I’m not sure it’s what I want to do best . . . in fact it is what I want to do least!”

Joe was walking in the park looking for his friends when he saw something he had never seen before.  At first he was a curious, so he got closer to this new creature to have a look.  It was black and long and had wings.  Joe started to count the wings. One, two, three, four wings.

“It’s a dragonfly,” said Freddie, one of Joe’s friends who had come along.  “Are you ready to start building your cocoon?” asked Freddie.

Joe didn’t answer but watched in amazement as the dragonfly leapt up into the air and was gone.

“I do not want to build a cocoon” said Joe to his friend.

“But you have to make a cocoon,” replied Freddie, “It’s what we do.  It’s what we caterpillars do best.”

“But,” said Joe, “I do not want to build a cocoon, and besides, I now know what I really want to do.”

“Oh, what’s that?” asked Freddie.

“I want to fly!”

Joe knew that all his caterpillar friends had busied themselves building cocoons, but he also knew that he wanted to do something different.  Cocoons were ok. if you wanted to sleep your life away, thought Joe, but they were not for him.  No, he did not want to sleep, he wanted to fly.  And so he set himself to building something for himself.  No, not a cocoon like all his friends, but a set of wings so that he could fly.  “Yep, they will be amazed” he thought “when they wake up from all that silly sleeping, and look up to see me flying.”

And so Joe made himself wings from leaves.  His friends made cocoons.  Joe put his new wings on and flapped, and flapped, and flapped while his friends went into their cocoons and slept, and slept and slept.  Joe didn’t get off the ground at all.  So he made a new set of wings out of tree bark.  He put them on and flapped, and flapped, and flapped, and flapped while his friends slept, and slept, and slept.  Joe didn’t get off the ground at all.  So he made a new set of wings, in fact he made many new sets of wings out of every material possible and he flapped and flapped and flapped, while his friends slept and slept and slept.  But Joe never got off the ground.

Then one day, Joe’s friends woke from their sleep.  Joe watched in amazement as his friends, one by one, left their cocoons, unfolded their beautiful wings and flew off into the air.  Joe put down his latest set of wings that he was building out of paper and started building a cocoon.  After all, building cocoons is what caterpillars do best.

One thought on “What Caterpillars Do Best

  1. Thank you Pastor Dixon,
    What a marvellous life lesson. Let’s do what we were made for. If we as christians fulfill Our Father’s purpose for our lives we shall be fulfilled and have true contentment. We may sometimes think we have a better idea of how we should fill our lives with this and that but , in a christian’s life, only true service to our King will be satisfying. Blessings to you, Sandra and the boys. Allan

    Like

Leave a Reply

